Motto: 'Critical Thoughts for Critical Minds'

  [   About  ]  *   [   History  ]  *   [   Heading the Department  ]  *   [   Programmes  ]  *   [   Building  ]  *   [   Gallery  ]  

Department of Mathematics
Department of Mathematics, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, was established in October 1962. In its early years, the Department was mainly offering combined honours degree such as B.Sc. (Hons) Mathematics with Physics. The B.Sc. single (honours) programmes in Mathematics, Mathematics with Computer Science and Mathematics with Statistics started in the early 1970's. By the end of the 1970's and early 1980's, the Department had graduated Masters and Ph.Ds. in Computer Science, Mathematics and Statistics. However, Statistics and Computer Science programmes got discontinued due to lack of manpower. B.Sc. (Hons) in Mathematics with Computer Science was resuscitated in 2001 with eight students selected from the B.Sc. (Hons) Mathematics at 300 level. Also, B.Sc. (Hons) Statistics programme was resuscitated during the 2001/2002 academic session. M.Sc. and Ph.D. programmes in Statistics and Computer Science were also revived during the same session. Presently, the Department offers the following courses:

1. B.Sc (Hons) Mathematics
2. B.Sc (Hons) Computer Science
3. B.Sc (Hons) Statistics
4. Postgraduate Diploma in Computer Science
5. Postgraduate Diploma in Statistics
6. M.Sc Mathematics
7. M.Sc Computer Science
8. M.Sc Statistics
9. Ph.D. Mathematics
10. Ph.D. Computer Science
11. Ph.D. Statistics
Department of Mathematics, Faculty of Physical Sciences
Ahmadu Bello University Zaria - Nigeria